Evoke - How to use it.

Go down

Evoke - How to use it.

Post  DarkRequiem on Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:24 am

Today, while playing against MaJin a doubt was risen: can a creature with Evoke be summoned as if it had Flash?

The answer is no. Why? First of all, it abides to two rules:
1. Evoke is an alternative casting cost (and not an ability cost).
2. Creatures can only be summoned on any of the active player's Main Phases (unless they have Flash in their text book).

This answers another question: can a creature with Evoke be used to block an attacking creature?

The answer is again a negative one. Why?
1. You can only pay the Evoke cost whenever you can summon a creature: your Main Phases. This means that you can't summon it on your Blocking Attackers Step.
2. A creature which was cast through its Evoke cost dies once it hits the table. It hits the table and dies. This means that whatever effects are to be triggered whenever a creature comes into play and/or whenever a creature is put into the graveyard from the game will trigger.

To check more on the rules take a look at: http://www.crystalkeep.com/magic/rules/summaries/indexes/rule-general-502.php

Liberate Tutame Ex Inferis!

Number of posts : 465
Age : 39
Location : Portugal
Registration date : 2008-07-11

View user profile http://magic4nongeeks.heavenforum.com

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum